Darbo laikas

  • Freely accessible


Gauti nuorodas


With the 1584 order of the Duke of Courland, Gotthard Kettler, construction began in the current old town. In 1573, for the needs of the Latvian congregation, St. Trinity Church was built, it was burned down as a result of a fire, but the Church of the Holy Spirit, completed in 1594 and built for the German congregation, can still be viewed today. There were two synagogues in the old town, but both were burned down. In 2017, a memorial Synagogue Garden was created in place of the Great Synagogue.

In the center of the spacious Town Hall, majestically stands the renovated Town Hall, which was started to be built in 1616 with the special favor of the duke, at that time it was the largest and most luxurious town hall in the Duchy of Kurzeme and Zemgale.

On Rūpniecības street, in front of the old market, there is a neo-Gothic style building, built by Samuels Iciks Mihelsons in 1884, this house was once one of the most magnificent in Bauska. On the building you can see an interesting inscription - "Liqueur Fabrik" (liqueur factory). The existence of such a factory is confirmed by a cherry liqueur label in German and Russian, which dates to the late 19th and early 20th century. On the other hand, on Rīgas Street, near Town square, there are the buildings of the Loding’s brewery. The latest innovation, which attracts the interest of many tourists, is the "Rose alley" created on Rīgas Street and the "Ceramic Mosaic" on Strautnieku Street.

  • Free audio guide "Discover Bauska!" (LV, LT, EE, RU, ENG)
  • Free audio guide "The story of Bauska Jews" (LV, RU, ENG)
  • Tour of the old town (organized by Bauska Museum specialists)


Traditional events and offers
  • Ciere, Zemgale fair


Free of charge